Georgia County Tax Assessor Websites

Select The Letter that Corresponds To The First Letter Of The County.  Then Select The County From The List Below.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J| L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | W

Click to enlarge map image.

 Floyd County Board of Tax Assessors

The County Board of Tax Assessors, appointed for fixed terms by the county commissioners, is responsible for the appraisal, assessment, and the equalization of all assessments within the county. They notify taxpayers when changes are made to the value of property, receive and review all appeals filed, and insure that the appeal process proceeds properly. In addition, they approve all exemptions claimed by the taxpayer.

Floyd County

Floyd County was formed from part of Cherokee County in 1832. Georgia’s 82nd county was named for General John Floyd, a South Carolina Indian fighter and U.S. Congressman. Rome, the county seat, was established in 1834.


Floyd County has two historic courthouses, both listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Other places of historic note are Rome’s City Clock, built in 1872; Myrtle Hill Cemetery, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and resting place of Ellen Axson Wilson, wife of President Woodrow Wilson; and the Capitoline Wolf, a 1,500-pound sculpture given to the City of Rome by Italian dictator Benito Mussolini in 1929.

County Profile


Incorporated: December 3, 1832
Population: 90,565
Total Area: 513.3 Square miles


Cities and Towns

Rome (County Seat)

Cave Spring

Contact Information


Address: P.O. Box 946
Rome, Georgia
(706) 291-5110
(706) 291-5248

SU 10
ROME GA 30161